Sun Health Foundation Names New Board Officers & Trustee Members

Patricia Lewis FinnellSUN CITY – Sun Health recently named a new chairman, vice chairman and treasurer, as well as three new board members to the Sun Health Foundation Board of Trustees.

Surprise’s Patricia Lewis Finnell now chairs the Sun Health Foundation Board of Trustees. An Advanced Certified Fundraising Executive (ACFRE), Finnell currently serves as senior professional-in-residence at Arizona State University’s Lodestar Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Innovation.

A worldwide lecturer on not-for-profit governance, Finnell has a rich history of community involvement, including serving as treasurer of the AARP Foundation, and as chair of the Alexandria, VA, Symphony Orchestra and the Women’s Philanthropy Institute.

Sun City West’s Michael Mandell now serves as the vice chair.  Mandell, a member of the Sun Health Foundation Board of Trustees since 2010, is a semi-retired business professional with a background in human resources consulting and career management consulting. Previously, he served as a vice president of client services for Right Management.

Mandell also has 37 years in the computer and technology field. During his time working with the Sun Health Foundation, Mandell primarily has focused on planned giving and special events.

Glendale’s Lew Lancaster, a Board of Trustees member since 2007, now serves as the board’s treasurer.  Lancaster also serves as chairman of the Sun Health Foundation’s research pillar, as well as its Finance/Investment Committee.  He has also volunteered for several non-profit organizations in the past promoting the improved health and wellbeing of our community.

A semi-retired financial professional, Lewis worked for more than 25 years with Honeywell International, serving in a variety of leadership roles including working as a unit comptroller and finance director for two different business units. Earlier in his career, Lancaster worked in the banking industry.

Litchfield Park’s Sandra Foell, who was reelected to the Board of Trustees last year, continues serving as the board secretary.  A former English and French teacher who retired in 1993, Foell has extensive background and a history of involvement on Sun Health and Banner Health boards and committees, beginning with the Boswell Memorial Hospital Board in 1998.

During that time, Foell also chaired multiple boards, panels and committees, including the Boswell board, the Sun Health Communications and Marketing Committee, the Boswell Memorial Hospital Joint Conference Committee and the Sun Health Community Advisory Panel.

The three new members of the Board of Trustees include:

  •  Peoria’s Michael Barnes – Barnes has a rich history of involvement with Sun Health, serving as a member of Sun Health Foundation’s Planned Giving Committee.  A community-minded individual, Barnes has expressed a strong interest in becoming more involved in the Northwest Valley.  He currently serves as vice president of MidFirst Wealth Management Group in Scottsdale;
  • Peoria’s Mary Leiker – Leiker is a fairly new arrival to the state of Arizona, having moved from Michigan two years ago.  She is a resident of the Vistancia master planned community. Leiker brings strong interests in both Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease research to the board. A longtime educator, Leiker formerly served as superintendent of Kentwood, MI., Public Schools from 1991-2007; and,
  • Sun City West’s Gerald (Jerry) Solomon – Solomon brings a strong interest in medical technology and a deep desire to benefit the community to the Sun Health Foundation Board of Trustees. While he has been officially retired for the past five years, Solomon, a former director of telephone operations for the Utilix Corporation, has continued doing some consulting work.

“The Sun Health Foundation’s Board of Trustees traditionally draws the best and brightest philanthropists and business leaders from throughout the West Valley,” Sun Health President and Chief Executive Officer Ron Guziak said.  “The talented individuals comprising the 2012-13 board provide an outstanding example of this fact.”